Qigu (七股; lit. “seven stocks/shares”) District takes its name from seven investors behind the clearance of land for cultivation and building of huts (寮; Hoklo: liau) here. Consequently named 七股寮仔 (Hoklo: chit-ko-liau-a; “seven shares huts [+ noun suffix]”).
In 1920 under Japanese rule, 寮 (“huts”) was swapped for 庄 (Japanese: ショウ shou; “village”), and after retrocession in 1945, it became a township and now a district, without further change of name.
Earlier a salt-producing area, the lagoon at the estuary of the Zengwen River (曾文溪) is now a conservation area for the black-faced spoonbill (黑面琵鷺).
Cigu (七股) alternative romanisation of Qigu.
Chiku (七股) alternative romanisation of Qigu.
Text and photos copyright Jiyue Publications
subtitle
-- Working draft for upcoming book by Mark Caltonhill, author of "Private Prayers and Public Parades - Exploring the religious life of Taipei" and other works.
Showing posts with label Tainan. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tainan. Show all posts
Thursday, 8 December 2011
玉井區 Yujing District, Tainan
[Some other districts of Tainan through which the Zengwen River runs include the following]

Yujing (玉井; lit. “jade well”) Township was formally called 大武壟 (Hoklo: dwa-bu-leng; lit. “large military ridge-in-paddy”), was originally the Siraya (西拉雅) Plains Aborigine [other sources say Tsou (鄒) Aborigine] Tapani (噍吧哖) community. Abe suggests that 17th-century Dutch references to "Dobale" and "Daubali" could refer to here.
In 1915, ex-policeman Yu Qing-fang (余清芳) led Han Chinese and Aborigines in an uprising against Japanese rule known to historians as the Tapani Incident (噍吧哖事件) or Xilai Temple Incident (西來庵事件). In this—as well as the subsequent Japanese military suppression, revenge on non-combatants, arrests and death sentences, and associated diseases and famines—more people (probably several thousand) died than in any other anti-Japanese incident.

In the revision of place names of 1920, the obscure characters 噍吧哖 (“tapani”; [no literal meaning, these characters are have only phonetic value])were changed in accordance with Japansee pronunciation to 玉井 (Japanese: tama-i). Pronounced yujing in Mandarin by the ROC administration, this name is used to the present day.
Yuching (玉井) alternative romanisation of Yujing.
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
Yujing (玉井; lit. “jade well”) Township was formally called 大武壟 (Hoklo: dwa-bu-leng; lit. “large military ridge-in-paddy”), was originally the Siraya (西拉雅) Plains Aborigine [other sources say Tsou (鄒) Aborigine] Tapani (噍吧哖) community. Abe suggests that 17th-century Dutch references to "Dobale" and "Daubali" could refer to here.

In the revision of place names of 1920, the obscure characters 噍吧哖 (“tapani”; [no literal meaning, these characters are have only phonetic value])were changed in accordance with Japansee pronunciation to 玉井 (Japanese: tama-i). Pronounced yujing in Mandarin by the ROC administration, this name is used to the present day.
Yuching (玉井) alternative romanisation of Yujing.
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
Wednesday, 7 December 2011
曾文溪、水庫 Zengwen River / Reservoir, Chiayi and Tainan
Zengwen (曾文; lit. “grt.grandparent culture”), the name of Taiwan’s fourth-longest river (138km; from Alishan Township in Chiayi County to the coast between Tainan's Qigu and Annan districts) and of its largest reservoir (17.14k㎡ when full), derives its name from 曾文 (Hoklo: chan-bun) Village.
This, in turn, took its name from a man with family name 曾 (Hoklo: Chan; Mdn. Zeng) and given name 文 (Hoklo: Bun; Mdn. Wen). Early in the Qing dynasty (清; 1683-1895), Mr. Chan Bun led settlers to clear land for cultivation in this area on the southern bank of the river in the northern suburbs of Shanhua Town. No trace of the village remains.
[2021 update: The river is named for one long-forgotten Zeng Wen (曾文). Abe only records him as having opened up land for cultivation here, but Wikipedia’s Chinese-language page says that he did so during the 17th-century Dutch period before going on to operate a ferry. Old Western maps call it the Soulang River, but sometimes the Zant River, which was perhaps a rendition of the Hoklo pronunciation Tsan of the surname 曾 (Mandarin: Zeng).]
Tsengwen (曾文) alternative romanisation of Zengwen.
Cengwun (曾文) alternative romanisation of Zengwen.
[Source: http://www.wcis.itri.org.tw/Upload/QUARTC/000114/31-14.pdf -- NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011, 2021
This, in turn, took its name from a man with family name 曾 (Hoklo: Chan; Mdn. Zeng) and given name 文 (Hoklo: Bun; Mdn. Wen). Early in the Qing dynasty (清; 1683-1895), Mr. Chan Bun led settlers to clear land for cultivation in this area on the southern bank of the river in the northern suburbs of Shanhua Town. No trace of the village remains.
[2021 update: The river is named for one long-forgotten Zeng Wen (曾文). Abe only records him as having opened up land for cultivation here, but Wikipedia’s Chinese-language page says that he did so during the 17th-century Dutch period before going on to operate a ferry. Old Western maps call it the Soulang River, but sometimes the Zant River, which was perhaps a rendition of the Hoklo pronunciation Tsan of the surname 曾 (Mandarin: Zeng).]
Tsengwen (曾文) alternative romanisation of Zengwen.
Cengwun (曾文) alternative romanisation of Zengwen.
[Source: http://www.wcis.itri.org.tw/Upload/QUARTC/000114/31-14.pdf -- NEEDS VERIFICATION]
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011, 2021
新市區, 善化區 Xinshi and Shanhua districts, Tainan
[Yesterday’s post mentioned that Saulang (sinicized as 蕭壠 Siauleng, today's 佳里 Jiali) was one of four main Siraya Plains Aboriginal communities, all in today’s Tainan. The other three were Mattau (荳社; today's 麻豆 Madou; see here), Sinckan (新港, today's 新市 Xinshi and Bakaloan (目加溜灣; today’s 善化 Shanhua).]
Xinshi (新市; lit. “new city/market”) was formerly 新港 (Hoklo: Sinkang; lit. “new port”). Due to the apparent descriptive nature of this name (Taiwan has had several "new ports", see Xingang), it is sometimes assumed to be original, but actually represents a sinicisation (transliteration) of Sinckan, the Sirayan (西拉雅) Plains Aboriginal name.
This was the first target of Dutch colonial (1624-61) "civilizing" and Christian proselytizing, so along with Favorlang further north, the Sirayan language--known as Sinckan--was the main means of communication between Aborigines and Ducth.
A Sinckan Gospel of St. Matthew was translated and many “Sinckan Manuscripts” (Sirayan/Chinese land contracts) are still in existence.
Due to its important location, under Zheng (鄭; 1662-83) and Qing (清; 1683-1895) rule the village grew into a thriving market town (市; Mdn.: shi), so became known as 新市仔 (Hoklo: sin-chhi-a; “new market”). In 1920 under Japanese rule, 新市 became the town’s official name.
Hsinshih (新市) alternative romanisation of Xinshi.
Sinshi (新市) alternative romanisation of Xinshi.
Xingang (新港; lit. "new port) refers to:
a) old name for Xinshi (新市) District, Tainan
b) Xingang Township, Chiayi County
c) [to be continued]
Shanhua (善化; lit. “better transform”) was formerly Bakaloan (目加溜灣), one of four main Sirayan (西拉雅) Plains Aboriginal communities prior to 17th-century foreign immigration.
Dutch colonists were attacked when collecting bamboo here in 1625, but ultimately subdued the area in 1635. Calling it Tevoran, they set up schools and churches, and encouraged Han Chinese immigration to grow rice and sugarcane.
Under Zheng-Ming rule (鄭, 1662-83), a military-farming community (屯田; see tun-tian) established here was called 善化 (Hoklo: sianhoa).

In the succeeding Qing dynasty (1683-1895), the area was called both 善化 but also 灣裡 (Hoklo: oanli; lit. “bay inside”), due to its location “within” a “bend” (similarly written and pronounced word: 彎; Hoklo: oan) in the Zengwen River (曾文溪).
Japanese re-organization of local government reverted to use of 善化 (Japanese: zenka), and 善化 (Mdn. shanhua) has continued in use under ROC rule since retrocession in 1945.
Text © Jiyue Publications 2011, 2021



Due to its important location, under Zheng (鄭; 1662-83) and Qing (清; 1683-1895) rule the village grew into a thriving market town (市; Mdn.: shi), so became known as 新市仔 (Hoklo: sin-chhi-a; “new market”). In 1920 under Japanese rule, 新市 became the town’s official name.
Hsinshih (新市) alternative romanisation of Xinshi.
Sinshi (新市) alternative romanisation of Xinshi.
Xingang (新港; lit. "new port) refers to:
a) old name for Xinshi (新市) District, Tainan
b) Xingang Township, Chiayi County
c) [to be continued]
Shanhua (善化; lit. “better transform”) was formerly Bakaloan (目加溜灣), one of four main Sirayan (西拉雅) Plains Aboriginal communities prior to 17th-century foreign immigration.
Dutch colonists were attacked when collecting bamboo here in 1625, but ultimately subdued the area in 1635. Calling it Tevoran, they set up schools and churches, and encouraged Han Chinese immigration to grow rice and sugarcane.
Under Zheng-Ming rule (鄭, 1662-83), a military-farming community (屯田; see tun-tian) established here was called 善化 (Hoklo: sianhoa).

In the succeeding Qing dynasty (1683-1895), the area was called both 善化 but also 灣裡 (Hoklo: oanli; lit. “bay inside”), due to its location “within” a “bend” (similarly written and pronounced word: 彎; Hoklo: oan) in the Zengwen River (曾文溪).
Japanese re-organization of local government reverted to use of 善化 (Japanese: zenka), and 善化 (Mdn. shanhua) has continued in use under ROC rule since retrocession in 1945.
Text © Jiyue Publications 2011, 2021
佳里區 Jiali District, Tainan
Jiali (佳里; lit. “fine neighbourhood”) was, until the 20th century, known as 蕭壠 (Hoklo: Siauleng, lit. “reverent ridge-in-paddy”), a 17th-century transliteration of Siraya (西拉雅) Plains aboriginal Saulang—meaning “contracted land”—one of four major Siraya communities.
Under the 1920 Japanese colonial re-organisation of local government, the name Jiali (佳里) was adopted. This derived from another 17th-century name, 佳里興 (Mdn. Jialixing; lit. “fine neighbourhood prosper”), which, in roughly this area, was the administrative centre of 天興縣 (Mdn. Tianxing County; ) during Zheng family rule (鄭; 1662-83), and of 諸羅縣 (Mdn. Zhuluo County) under the succeeding Qing dynasty, until this was transferred to Zhuluo City (now Chiayi) at the beginning of the 18th century.
So why Japan’s name change from 蕭壠 to 佳里? Consistent Japanese practice (similar to Takow to Kaohsiung and many others) would suggest the use of different characters whose Japanese pronunciation matched the Hoklo Taiwanese pronunciation of the original, i.e. Siauleng. But 佳里 is pronounced kari in Japanese.
One possible explanation is the colonial authorities’ desire for a complete break from history, perhaps in light of the Siauleng Incident (蕭壟事件) of 1895 when up to 2,000 local people were massacred as a reprisal for armed resistance against the newly arriving colonizing army as it headed south towards Tainan.
Jiali citizens hold an annual ceremony to honour these antecedents, as well as a Burning of Lord Wang’s Boat (燒王爺船) event (hence the photo).
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
Under the 1920 Japanese colonial re-organisation of local government, the name Jiali (佳里) was adopted. This derived from another 17th-century name, 佳里興 (Mdn. Jialixing; lit. “fine neighbourhood prosper”), which, in roughly this area, was the administrative centre of 天興縣 (Mdn. Tianxing County; ) during Zheng family rule (鄭; 1662-83), and of 諸羅縣 (Mdn. Zhuluo County) under the succeeding Qing dynasty, until this was transferred to Zhuluo City (now Chiayi) at the beginning of the 18th century.

One possible explanation is the colonial authorities’ desire for a complete break from history, perhaps in light of the Siauleng Incident (蕭壟事件) of 1895 when up to 2,000 local people were massacred as a reprisal for armed resistance against the newly arriving colonizing army as it headed south towards Tainan.
Jiali citizens hold an annual ceremony to honour these antecedents, as well as a Burning of Lord Wang’s Boat (燒王爺船) event (hence the photo).
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
Monday, 14 November 2011
麻豆 Madou, Tainan
Mádòu (麻豆; lit. “sesame bean”) in Tainan takes its name from the village of Mattau (variously romanized by the 17th-century Dutch colonials), inhabited by plains aborigines of the Siraya (西拉雅) ethnicity.
A slightly alternative version suggests the matta part was Sirayan meaning “eye”, and the au sound at the end may represent the addition of the Chinese 澳 (Mdn. ao) meaning “harbour”. And a more radical interpretation suggests the Sirayan name was actually Toukapta, while the word Madou was a purely Han Chinese introduction.
Initially the name was written 蔴荳, essentially the same characters but with 艹 (botanical semantic elements) added. The modern version was adopted in 1920 during Japanese rule.
In 1950 it became an urban township (鎮), and in 2010 it became a district (區) in the newly combined Tainan city and county.
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
A slightly alternative version suggests the matta part was Sirayan meaning “eye”, and the au sound at the end may represent the addition of the Chinese 澳 (Mdn. ao) meaning “harbour”. And a more radical interpretation suggests the Sirayan name was actually Toukapta, while the word Madou was a purely Han Chinese introduction.
Initially the name was written 蔴荳, essentially the same characters but with 艹 (botanical semantic elements) added. The modern version was adopted in 1920 during Japanese rule.
In 1950 it became an urban township (鎮), and in 2010 it became a district (區) in the newly combined Tainan city and county.
Text and photos © Jiyue Publications 2011
Labels:
Tainan
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)